“Under The Skin” Group Review

 “Very erotic, very scary!” – The Guardian

“Simply a masterpiece” – The Telegraph

7.8/10 Rating on Rotten Tomatoes

6.3/10 Rating on IMDb

In this post each of the arts enthusiasts on our team give you their take on the 2013 film Under The Skin, coming from different places, all having different takes on the movie we thought it best to give you a range of views, and then once you’ve watched it why not comment below with what you thought, and who you agreed with…

Watch the trailer here: 

Angelica:

Disjointed. Fragmented. Strangely Captivating. This movie was an interesting study in cinematography, the use of sound, and character development. With only one star on Netflix it is safe to say this movie is not everyone’s cup of tea, however I for one found it interesting, and felt it was about two hours of my life well spend. The film for me was a kind of montage of people watching everyday scenes from the streets of Scotland, with recognisable lads and party girls, intermingled with abstract, jarring images of men being consumed by what seemed to be a lake or oil, consumed and trapped, before shrivelling and popping like balloons.

There were some especially striking and emotive moments for me, most notable the scene in which a wife and husband desperately run into the sea to save their drowning child, both seem to get caught in the current themselves, and their baby boy is seen left crying his eyes out on the beach, alone. For me this was a movie which could be taken as a commentary on women’s power and association with violence, coming both from the women, and from me. In the film we see both the image of the main woman unflinchingly hitting a man over the head with a rock, as well as a lorry driver attempting to violently rape her in the woods.

https://mercurialblonde.wordpress.com/2014/07/01/59-under-the-skin-dir-jonathan-glazer/
https://mercurialblonde.wordpress.com/2014/07/01/59-under-the-skin-dir-jonathan-glazer/

The question which I was left with was whether the main character was the victim, or abuser? To be pitied, or despised?

Sophia: This film was captivating and beautiful with some images that will stay in my mind forever, for example the scene Angelica mentioned of the feet frantically splashing through the water. Although I’m usually a fan of Scarlett Johansson, I must say this film wasn’t for me. I found the absurdist humour just didn’t match my own and the fragmented scenes meant I just couldn’t find my feet and connect with the main character. Some scenes were hard to watch, while others didn’t intrigue me to watch them at all.

Peter Bradshaw in his article for The Guardian argues that the use of ‘normal’ people in the background added a purpose to contrasting their movie star lead. I however, just felt jilted and it lost any sense of realism I had previously felt. This may just be a personal preference however. It wasn’t a beautiful film, but it didn’t grip me in the way it did for some reviewers.

Jessica: Keep an eye on this post and my review will be added soon! 

Claire: Keep an eye on this post and my review will be added soon! 

Leave a Reply

